Prime Minister's Science Prizes

The Prime Minister’s Science Prizes recognise and showcase excellence in science and technology research, teaching and communications.

Curious Minds banner. Science and technology in Aotearoa New Zealand starts with curiosity.

Awarded annually, there are five prizes totalling a combined value of $975,000 NZ dollars.

The Prime Minister’s Science Prize

An individual or team for a transformative scientific discovery or achievement, which has had a significant economic, health, social and/or environmental impact on New Zealand or internationally.

The Prime Minister’s MacDiarmid Emerging Scientist Prize

An outstanding emerging scientist who has had their PhD or equivalent qualification conferred within the last eight years.

The Prime Minister’s Science Teacher Prize

A registered teacher who has been teaching science, mathematics, technology, pūtaiao, hangarau or pāngarau learning areas of the New Zealand curriculum to school-age children in a primary, intermediate or secondary New Zealand registered school.

The Prime Minister’s Future Scientist Prize

A secondary school student for outstanding achievement in carrying out a practical and innovative science research, maths, technology or engineering project.

The Prime Minister’s Science Communication Prize

A practising scientist who can demonstrate an interest, passion and aptitude for science communication and public engagement, or to a person who has developed expertise in public engagement with, or communication of complex scientific or technological information to the public or science community.

Funded by MBIE, the Prime Minister’s Science Prizes are administered by the Royal Society Te Apārangi.

Prime Minister's Science Prizes(external link)