Otago Regional Workforce Plan 2022

June 2022

Morning sun on a vineyard with Lake Wanaka and mountains in the background. A kaponga or silver fern is shown in the sky.

Whatungarongaro te tangata toitū te whenua

As man disappears from sight, the land remains

This is the web version of the Otago Regional Workforce Plan.

Download the PDF version:

Otago Regional Workforce Plan [PDF, 3.7 MB]

Otago Regional Workforce Plan summary [PDF, 1.3 MB]

In this section


In 2020, 15 Regional Skills Leadership Groups (RSLGs) were created across Aotearoa New Zealand to identify and support better ways of meeting future skills and workforce needs in our regions and cities.

Otago – our RSLG sub-regions and rūnaka marae

The Otago region can be roughly divided into the three distinct sub-regions that the RSLG uses in our mahi; Dunedin, Coastal Otago encompassing Waitaki and the Clutha District and Inland Otago, encompassing Central Otago and Queenstown-Lakes Districts. This enables us to better capture the diversity of Otago's sub-regions.

The Otago story

Otago – from Ōtākou; the place where the red earth abounds.

Our strategic imperatives

The Otago RSLG has adopted the Kaponga – the Silver Tree Fern - to visually represent our work, and the strategic imperatives that guide it.

Our workforce aspirations

Developed collectively by our Otago RSLG, our aspirations capture what the group hopes our region’s labour market will become.

Our initial areas of focus

To breathe life into our aspirations and deepen our understanding of the challenges and opportunities involved in meeting them, we have chosen 4 initial focus areas: the Construction, Accommodation and Food Services, Healthcare and Social Assistance and Food and Fibre sectors.

Summary of actions

Our role as a Regional Skills Leadership Group (RSLG) is to develop a picture of Otago’s labour market aspirations, research and analyse, and then coordinate and facilitate action in the region to help us achieve our aspirations.

Our members

Otago Regional Skills Leadership Group members.