The International Visitor Conservation and Tourism Levy

The introduction of the IVL in 2019 was the first step in creating a sustainable funding model to invest in tourism and conservation projects that support a productive tourism sector that delivers high-quality visitor experiences.

Current IVL settings

Most international visitors applying for a visa or a New Zealand Electronic Travel Authority (NZeTA) to enter New Zealand are charged the non-refundable IVL of $35.

An application for an NZeTA currently costs $17 or $23 depending on the method of application (via an app or online), and the current IVL charge of $35 is applied on top of this cost. An NZeTA is valid for 2 years and is required for visa waiver travellers and Australian permanent residents. Australian citizens, people from many Pacific Island countries[1], New Zealand citizens and New Zealand visa holders are not required to hold an NZeTA before travelling to New Zealand.

This consultation is not considering any changes to who pays the IVL.

Where is the IVL spent?

Assuming arrivals match 2019 figures, the IVL will generate roughly $80 million per year between 2024 and 2026. The revenue from the IVL is split evenly between investment in tourism and conservation. However, this division is not mandated by legislation, and Ministers could choose to change how the IVL is allocated.

Examples of previous investment include enhancing visitor access to conservation and tourism activities on the West Coast by Fox Glacier and the visitor safety enhancement trial at Tongariro National Park[2]. Annex 1 provides a full summary of IVL investment to date.


Back to text

[1] Including American Samoa, Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Republic of Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Niue, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu.

Back to text

[2] Projects funded by the IVL