Tourism Infrastructure Fund: Round 5 funding recipients

Round 5 of the Tourism Infrastructure Fund awarded funding to 57 projects with a total of $18,581,384 awarded in July 2021.

Ashburton District Council

$158,328 for enhancements to rest areas at Taylors Stream and Awa Awa Rata Reserve on Inland Scenic Route

Buller District Council

$300,000 for the development and enhancement of pathways in Westport Town Centre

$240,000 for a new public toilet facility, landscaping and bike racks at Reefton

Central Hawkes Bay District Council

$209,440 to replace the toilet block with larger facility at Pourerere Beach

$404,000 to upgrade Kairakau Water Supply to meet Drinking Water Standards

Central Otago District Council

$325,000 to develop a cycle hub, toilets and provision of potable water at Alexandra Riverside Reserve

Chatham Islands Council

$316,800 to develop an access path, toilets, carpark, viewing platform and signage at the Basalt Columns

$225,100 to upgrade Waitangi toilets

Christchurch City Council

$140,000 to upgrade toilets at Albion Square, Lyttelton

Far North District Council

$69,750 to install a dump station on the corner of Te Paki Stream Road and Cape Reinga Road

$61,763 to install Wi-Fi connected smart bins at Paihia and Russell waterfronts

$103,282 for Wi-Fi connectivity embedded within streetlights to operate smart bins and other activities

$144,150 to install a toilet block at Te Paki Stream

$222,750 to seal Bayly Road, Waitangi

$98,840 to install a toilet block at Lake Manuwai

Gisborne District Council

$203,200 to install a new toilet block at Tokomaru Bay Wharf

Hastings District Council

$90,000 for a new pedestrian pathway, carpark sealing, landscaping and signage for Evers-Swindell Freedom Camping Area

Hurunui District Council

$117,400 to install a toilet facility at Rotherham on the Inland Tourist Route

$117,400 to replace the public toilet at St Anne’s Lagoon

$117,400 to install a public toilet at Greta Valley

Kaikōura District Council

$1,908,115 to upgrade the path from the Esplanade to Point Kean and Kaikoura Lookout, and sealing the carpark at the Lookout

Mackenzie District Council

$813,480 to upgrade and enhance the toilet facility at Lake Pukaki

$680,000 to upgrade toilets, parking areas and lake access at Lake Ruataniwha Reserve

$84,100 to install a camper effluent dump station at Fairlie

$624,080 to redevelop the toilet facility in Fairlie

Marlborough District Council

$101,185 to install a toilet facility at Spring Creek

$111,320 to install a toilet facility at Lake Elterwater

$42,985 to install a toilet facility at Wedge Point

$399,175 to upgrade the toilet at Rai Valley and install a wastewater treatment system

$190,153 to upgrade Carluke Domain toilets and wastewater system, and install a waste dump station

$47,850 to develop Lawrence St carpark at Havelock

$118,160 to redevelop informal carparks to improve safety on the Link Pathway

Nelson District Council

$460,000 to upgrade Montgomery Square toilets to provide additional and enhanced facilities

Matamata-Piako District Council

$91,174 to upgrade the access road and carpark at Te Aroha Boat Ramp Reserve and expand the dump station

Queenstown Lakes District Council

$375,000 to develop a new drop-off zone for tourism operators, formalised boat trailer parking, new bus bays, a safer balustrade from road to marina, and an upgraded footpath at Glenorchy Carpark and Marina

$826,000 to upgrade and increase capacity of the public toilet, and install lighting and signage at Marine Parade

$781,784 for safety upgrades to pedestrian pathways and upgrade the boat ramp and jetty at Wanaka Lakefront

$432,000 to upgrade the Wanaka Tree Carpark, improve pedestrian and cyclist access through the carpark, carpark sealing, and provision of bus parking

Selwyn District Council

$448,550 to upgrade the toilets in Lincoln, West Melton and Sheffield Domain, and install dump stations in Rolleston and West Melton

Southland District Council

$1,500,000 additional funding for the Te Anau Wastewater project

$1,100,000 to upgrade the boat ramp, toilets and carpark at Pearl Harbour, Manapouri, and upgrade the access road and toilets at Fraser’s Beach, Manapouri

$440,000 for the replacement of two boat ramps in Te Anau to meet required standards, and installation of a new toilet in Bluegum Point

$99,125 to build a viewing platform at Observation Rock, Stewart Island

$600,000 for the replacement of Ulva Island Wharf, Stewart Island

Tasman District Council

$107,000 to install a double access caravan dump station at Takaka

Thames-Coromandel District Council

$235,796 to upgrade toilets at Island View, Whangamata

$146,329 to upgrade toilets at Martyn Road, Whangamata

Waimakiriri District Council

$131,000 to upgrade facilities at West Oxford Reserve

Waimate District Council

$186,600 to install new public toilets at Briar’s Gully and Waihao Box, and signage

Wairoa District Council

$322,820 to upgrade toilets at Mahanga and Te Reinga and install smart bins

Waitaki District Council

$505,000 to construct a new carpark and undertake safety improvements at Elephant Rock, install a new toilet and undertake safety improvements to roadways in Duntroon township, and upgrade the parking area at Oamaru Harbour

Westland District Council

$191,500 for a new toilet facility at Cass Square, Hokitika

$236,000 for a new toilet facility and to seal the high traffic area and carpark at Paringa

$137,000 to upgrade the visitor carpark adjacent to Franz Josef heliport and township

$230,500 for development of Hokitika Beachfront with a new access way, carpark, campervan and bus parking area, a toilet facility, and signage

$123,000 to install a boat trailer area and visitor parking at Jackson Bay

Wingspan National Bird of Prey Centre

$90,000 to install a sewer line, wastewater and drainage system, and new toilet facilities

Last updated: 16 July 2021