MBIE confirms 2 appointments to the Commerce Commission

Published: 01 July 2022

The Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE) has today announced that Bryan Chapple and Nathan Strong will be appointed as Associate Commissioners at the Commerce Commission.

“These appointments will take effect on 29 August 2022,” said Andrew Hume, General Manager Small Business, Commerce and Consumer Policy, MBIE.

“The appointments are for a term of 5 years, ending 27 August 2027.”

Bryan Chapple is currently Deputy Secretary at the Treasury, and previously held several senior roles at MBIE and its predecessor agency, the Ministry of Economic Development (MED).

Nathan Strong is currently General Manager (Commercial) at Unison Networks, and prior to that headed up Unison’s Regulation and Pricing function. He also brings various board and governance experience in the electricity sector.


The Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs appoints Associate Commissioners for their knowledge of, and experience in, areas relevant to the Commission's interests.

Biography for Bryan Chapple

Bryan Chapple is an experienced economist and senior public sector leader, with a deep understanding of the New Zealand economy and the role of regulation. He has been Deputy Secretary (Growth and Macroeconomics) at the New Zealand Treasury since 2017. In that role, Mr Chapple leads the Treasury’s work on micro and macro-economic policy, including the Treasury’s work on regulatory strategy. Through his senior leadership roles, Mr Chapple has experience in supporting organisations through change and in promoting high performance.

Biography for Nathan Strong

Nathan Strong is a qualified economist, with over 20 years of experience focusing on applied competition and regulatory economics, including at senior management levels in regulated companies. He is the General Manager (Commercial) at Unison Networks having first been appointed to the executive team at Unison in 2010. Mr Strong is also the Chair of the Electricity Networks Associations’ Regulatory Working Group, a Member of the Electricity Authority’s Security and Reliability Council and has previously been a member of several Electricity Authority Advisory Groups.

More information about Commission members(external link) — Commerce Commission

More information about the Board appointment process

MBIE media contact

Email: media@mbie.govt.nz