MBIE confirms new competition and consumer cross-appointments

Published: 25 February 2022

The Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE) has today announced a refresh of the cross-appointments between the New Zealand Commerce Commission and the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC).

ACCC Commissioners, Stephen Ridgeway and Anna Brakey, have been appointed as associate members of the New Zealand Commerce Commission from 1 March 2022.

The cross-appointment arrangement between the ACCC and the Commerce Commission began in 2010 to align the administration and enforcement of competition and consumer law, promoting a Single Economic Market between Australia and New Zealand.

These 2 new cross-appointments will refresh the arrangement and promote ongoing co-ordination between the 2 agencies.

The previous ACCC cross-appointee, Sarah Court, stepped down from the Commerce Commission last year following her departure from the ACCC to take up the role of Deputy Chair at the Australian Securities and Investments Commission.

Stephen Ridgeway and Anna Brakey have been appointed by the Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Dr David Clark, for a period ending at the expiry of their terms at the ACCC.

Information about the appointees can be found on the ACCC website:

ACCC Chair & Commissioners(external link) — ACCC website

Read about the board appointment process on our website:

Board appointments

MBIE media contact

Email: media@mbie.govt.nz