Science System Advisory Group

The Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment has convened a group of experts to provide advice on strengthening the science, innovation and technology system, including the challenges and aspirations of the sector, and opportunities for growth.

The Science System Advisory Group (SSAG) will be chaired by Professor Sir Peter Gluckman. The group members come from a variety of backgrounds, and will be meeting regularly to develop their advice and recommendations.

The SSAG has been tasked with developing 2 reports, the first due at the end of June.  It will focus on determining principles, and providing preliminary advice and recommendations that can be considered and actioned quickly.  The second report is due at the end of October.  It will build on the first report’s advice and provide final recommendations on longer-term changes. More information can be found in the Terms of reference for the SSAG.

The Ministry of Education has convened an advisory group to provide independent advice on the university sector. Given the close ties between the university and science systems, both groups will chaired by Professor Sir Peter Gluckman.

While the 2 groups will operate separately, sharing a chair will allow for connections to be made between the two systems where appropriate. 

Secretariat support for the SSAG will be provided by the Centre for Informed Futures Koi Tū. Information about the SSAG can also be found on their website.

Submissions open

Public submissions for the first phase of the Science System Advisory Group close at midnight Friday 17 May 2024. 

Please visit their website to make a submission:

Science System Advisory Group(external link)

There have been several requests for extensions and late submissions will be accepted.

Please contact if you wish to make a late submission. Late submissions close at 12pm on Wednesday 22 May 2024.

In this section

Terms of reference

Terms of reference for the Science System Advisory Group.

Advisory Group members

Biographies for the Science System Advisory Group members.

Last updated: 17 May 2024