Tourism Infrastructure Fund: Round 7 funding recipients

Round 7 of the Tourism Infrastructure Fund awarded $14,282,407 of funding to 56 projects in August 2023.

Bike Taupo

$135,321 for repairs to track damage at Craters of the Moon Bike Park.

Buller District Council

$32,000 for additional carparking at Carters Beach.

$200,000 for a connecting pathway to provide safer access to Westport from the Kawatiri River Cycle Trail.

$821,228 for upgrade of Tauranga Bay toilets and effluent system at Punakaiki and Mohikinui Campgrounds.

Chatham Islands Council

$107,720 for safer road pull over areas, turning areas for buses, carparks, and lookouts.

$31,350 for improvements to the Te Whakaru Mission Bay Track and carpark.

Central Hawkes Bay District Council

$188,000 for repairs to Tuki Tuki Walking and Cycling Trail.

Christchurch City Council

$52,500 for upgrade to Wairewa Little River Toilet Block.

Environment Canterbury Regional Council

$107,500 to build an all-weather safe vehicle entry and exit to Coutts Island Reserve.

Far North District Council

$240,000 for upgrade of the Russell Boat Ramp Carpark.

$50,000 for installation of 10 Smart Bins in high use locations across the Far North.

$140,000 to install public wifi and smart lighting/CCTV in Kaitaia, Manganui, Kohukohu, Horeke, Motuti, Kerikeri, Kororipo Basin, Opua and Waitangi.

$310,000 for remedial works to Taipa Beachfront.

$65,000 for a toilet facility at Windsor Landing Boat Ramp.

Gisborne District Council

$71,000 for redevelopment of Waihirere Domain Facilities.

$66,498 for repairs and resilience to Titirangi Hill Walking Tracks.

Gore District Council

$200,000 for construction of new Tulloch Park Toilet and Change Facility, installation of Wastewater Dump Station for motorhome usage.

Grey District Council

$76,400 to increase the capacity of the Mitchells end toilet block.

Hastings District Council

$227,500 for installation of a semi-permanent Transportable Amenity Block at Tomoana Showgrounds.

$80,000 for provision of new potable water service and new sewer service for Te Mata Peak Park.

$155,000 for Puketapu Park Cyclone Remediation.

$167,000 to construct an all-weather vehicle access road to allow safe exit and entry to Haumoana Domain.

Kawerau District Council

$75,000 for repairs to trail, viewing platforms and fencing at Tarawera River Trail.

Kaipara District Council

$607,000 for Pine Beach Day Visitor Toilets.

$206,500 for repairs to drainage at Mangawhai Community Park.

$310,000 for completion of the Bayly’s Beach Boardwalk.

Marlborough District Council

$100,500 for development of three freedom camping sites at Washbridge, Renwick Park and Opouri Road near Rai Valley.

Nelson City Council

$295,412 to complete the Montgomery Square Facility Renewal.

$235,370 for safety upgrades to the carpark and installation of a toilet facility at Marsden Valley Trail Head.

$1,130,066 to provide safe pedestrian/cycle access linking the city with the Nelson Marina.

Palmerston North City Council

$100,000 to install a motorhome Campervan Dump Station at Ashhurst Domain.

Project Castlecliff Inc

$876,250 to install a carpark and improved shared pathways at North Mole, Castlecliff in Whanganui.

Selwyn District Council

$97,500 to install a public toilet on State Highway 73 at Kirwee.

Southland District Council

$215,000 for a track/walkway from the new wharf to join walkways on Ulva Island.

South Wairarapa District Council

$60,000 towards upgrades to Lake Ferry Campground.

Tauranga City Council

$800,000 for extension of Marine Parade Coastal Pathway to improve visitor safety, protect the dunes and wildlife habitats and improve the visitor experience.

Tararua DIstrict Council

$110,000 to relocate and install a new toilet facility at Waihi Falls.

Thames Coromandel District Council

$169,500 to relocate and upgrade the Whangamata Dump Station.

$2,206,132 for new toilets at Kopu, Waikawau and Coromandel Bike Park and upgrade existing toilets on Coromandel Peninsula at Matarangi, Whitianga, Tairua and Whangamata.

$302,500 for repairs to shared pathways and reinstate safe access to beaches including steep accessways and stairs at Whangapoua, Wharekaho and Hahei.

Timaru District Council

$300,000 for upgrade to Strathallan Corner toilet facility.

Waimakariri District Council

$197,500 for upgrade of Woodend Town Centre Toilet.

Wairoa District Council

$87,450 for upgrade of Opoutama public toilets.
$87,450 for upgrade of Mahia public toilets.
$506,010 for upgrade of North Clyde public toilets and surrounds.

Waitaki District Council

$435,000 for improvements to the Harbour Carpark and improved facilities at Moeraki Boulders.

Waitangi Trust

$75,000 for improvements to access at Waitangi Wharf and pathway to the Treaty Grounds.

Western Bay of Plenty District Council

$125,000 for repairs to Minden Lookout.

$100,000 for repairs and resilience enhancements to Te Tawa Ki Tahataharoa Shared Path.

$30,000 for repairs to the Kaikokopu Trail.

Westland District Council

$65,000 towards a beach access ramp at Hokitika Beachfront.

$160,000 to install a new toilet block at Otira.

$450,000 to replace the Hokitika Gorge Suspension Bridge.

$55,000 to improve access and amenities at the Westland Industrial Heritage Park.

$37,250 for additional rubbish bins at South Westland, Cass Square and Franz Josef town centre.

Whakatane District Council

$451,000 restoration and enhancement of Nga Tapuwae o Toi Trail.

Last updated: 26 September 2023