Startup Advisors Council

The Startup Advisors Council was formed by the Government in 2022.

The Council was established for a 12-month term to support greater alignment of government interventions to develop New Zealand’s startup ecosystem, enabling more targeted policies to address areas of greatest need. We provide the Secretariat role to the Startup Council. Our role is to facilitate the Council to enable more startups to be created and scaled up, and accelerate the growth and maturation of the ecosystem to unlock the potential of innovative New Zealand companies.

Startups are often high tech, rapidly growing businesses which compete in the global market. They can generate significant levels of research and development and major contributors to the knowledge and innovation that is fundamental to resilience, economic growth, and the creation of highly skilled jobs.

The members of the Startup Advisors Council are:

  • Phil McCaw, Chair
  • Suse Reynolds
  • Marian Johnson 
  • Grant Straker (Ngāti Raukawa)
  • Mike Carden
  • Imche Fourie
  • Carl Jones. 

Read the Terms of reference

Read the ministers' release:

Startup Advisors Council appointed(external link) —