Te Ara Paerangi – Future Pathways Reference Group

Te Ara Paerangi – Future Pathways external Reference Group was established in March 2021 to provide high-level strategic guidance to the MBIE Science Leadership Team throughout the reform programme.

MBIE recognises the importance of working with the research, science and innovation sector and moving forward together with Te Ara Paerangi – Future Pathways system reforms.

This Reference Group was set up to represent a range of peak bodies and professional organisations within the sector, including business, industry and Māori science and research leaders. It supports MBIE to engage the right institutions and people, test ideas, choices, and trade-offs, and ensures MBIE has a good understanding of system-wide issues.

Reference Group members

  • Iain Cossar/Prue Williams, MBIE
  • Professor Dame Juliet Gerrard, Office of the PM’s Chief Science Advisor
  • John Morgan, Science NZ
  • Professor Richard Blaikie, Universities NZ
  • Professor Amanda Black, Te Pūtahitanga ropu (authors of Te Pūtahitanga report)
  • Tania Gerrard, Te Ara Pūtaiao (CRI Māori leadership group)
  • Grant Rennie, Public Service Association
  • Catherine Beard, Business NZ
  • Dr Sereana Naepi, Royal Society Early Career Researcher Forum
  • Professor Troy Baisden, NZ Association of Scientists
  • Professor Paora (Paul) Tapsell, IRANZ
  • Dr Alison Stewart, Food and Fibre Partnership Group
  • Dr James Hutchinson, private sector

Stay up to date

Subscribe to Te Ara Paerangi – Future Pathways newsletter for updates on the reform process and progress.

Subscribe(external link)

Last updated: 13 September 2022