Tourism Data Leadership Group

The Tourism Data Leadership Group (TDLG) is established to facilitate the provision of consistent, reliable, and trusted tourism data and insights that enables improved understanding to support better decision making, long-term value gains and sustainability for the benefit of all New Zealanders.

The central purpose of the Group is to create a collaborative forum to identify information needs of the diverse set of tourism data users (industry, central and local government, communities, iwi, interest groups, academics, and commentators), communicate those needs to the wide range of stakeholders, and support the implementation of possible solutions, including the provision of data and insights to users.

The core purpose and key objectives of the Group are outlined in the Terms of Reference.

Group establishment and appointments

At the Tourism Information and Data Hui in 2019, representatives from industry and government agreed that a co-governed data system would create significant value for the many users of tourism data and insights. After the initial disruptions of COVID-19, MBIE began coordinating a working group and consulted with the Tourism industry on a Terms of Reference for the Group, along with the application and appointment process. The application process was announced on MBIE’s website and expressions of interest called for in December 2021.

An appointment committee made up of 1 representative from Tourism Industry Aotearoa, New Zealand Māori Tourism, Regional Tourism Organisations New Zealand and the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment, selected 2 co-chairs and 8 members. The committee made their decision based on a mix of skills, knowledge, experience and representation, as outlined in the Terms of Reference.


Dr Keri-Anne Wikitera, Senior Lecturer in Tourism at Auckland University of Technology, and Chris Roberts, former CE of Tourism Industry Aotearoa have been appointed as co-chairs of the Group. Dr Wikitera and Mr Roberts are joined by eight members who are all highly regarded in their respective fields and have a wealth of experience across academia, government and the tourism industry. The full group, which held their first meeting on June 30, consists of the following membership:

Member Position(s)
Dr Keri-Anne Wikitera, Group co-chair Senior Lecturer in Tourism at AUT
Chris Roberts, Group co-chair Former CE of Tourism Industry Aotearoa (TIA)
Dr Susanne Becken Principal Science Investment Advisor at Department of Conservation; Vice Chancellor's Fellow in the School of Hospitality and Tourism Management, University of Surrey, UK; Professor of Sustainable Tourism at Griffith University, Australia
Dr Antony Kennedy Senior Manager for Spatial and Processing Services at Stats NZ/Tatauranga Aotearoa
Justin Kimberley Research Manager at Rotorua Economic Development (RED)
Graeme Osborne Senior Tourism Consultant for Stafford Strategy. Previously CEO and Deputy Chair for NZ Māori Arts & Craft Institute and CEO for Tourism Auckland
Carolyn Parker Research Director at Angus and Associates, a research and strategy service provider for the tourism industry
David Perks Chair of Regional Tourism New Zealand (RTNZ) and GM for 'Takina' Commercial Development of Wellington Convention and Exhibition Centre for Wellington City Council.
Wiremu Stone Head of Shared Services, Company Secretary and Accountant for Whale Watch Kaikoura Limited
Bruce Bassett Strategy and Policy Manager at Tourism Industry Aotearoa (TIA)


Read the latest news about Tourism Data Leadership Group activities.

The Tourism Data Co-Governance Group is now the Tourism Data Leadership Group

At the first group hui on 30 June, the Group agreed to a name change.

The new name better reflects the Group membership which includes individuals selected for their leadership and knowledge of tourism data, with experience covering tourism businesses, industry associations, Māori tourism, independent researchers, academia, local government, and central government. This also reiterates the purpose of the Group to provide leadership and advice on current and future collection of tourism-related data and insights as well as the strategic direction of data development.

The new name was formally announced at the Group's second hui on 29 August 2022 and acknowledged by the Minister for Tourism, Hon Stuart Nash. 


The Tourism Data Leadership Group (TDLG) meet bi-monthly in Wellington, and online as per its need arise to discuss on the strategic direction of tourism data & insight. All meeting minutes are available on request at


In October 2022, the TDLG conducted a short industry survey. While the Group is drawing on its own expertise and knowledge, it wanted to hear directly from users of tourism data and insight. Some of the key survey fundings were:

  • Internal company systems are the most common primary source of data and insight (36%)
  • Tourism New Zealand is the most common secondary source (56%)
  • Combining primary and secondary data sources, internal systems, Tourism New Zealand and Tourism Industry Aotearoa were all used by over 50% of respondents
  • Satisfaction with the publicly available tourism data and insight averaged 6.1 out of 10, with the lowest rating of 5.7 out of 10 for timeliness
  • Not surprisingly, larger businesses are more confident about their ability to interpret the data.
  • 4 suggested areas for improvement stood out.
  • And when asked if they could make 1 change to the tourism data system what would it be, the top pick was centralised data.

The 4 stand out areas for suggested improvement were:

  1. Regional tourism volumes and flows
  2. International arrivals and spend forecasts
  3. Visitor profile modelling
  4. Regional tourism forecasts

Read the full results of the survey.

The survey provides a useful input to the broader work programme of the Tourism Data Leadership Group, which is looking to complete its first interim report by the end of the year.


The initial report on outline key milestones the Group has achieved over the first 6 months. The report covers the state of the current tourism data system for context and an initial package of recommendations for the next phase of TDLG.

The full report will be available in February 2023.

Keeping update on TDLG work

If you're interested in following the progress of TDLG and its work programme, please email the secretariat at 

Last updated: 20 December 2022