



COVERSHEET

| Minister | Hon Kris Faafoi | Portfolio | Commerce and Consumer Affairs |
|----------|--|----------------------|----------------------------------|
| | Proposed Insolvency Practitioners Regulations: Release of Discussion Paper | Date to be published | 29 October 2019 |

| List of documents that have been proactively released | | | |
|---|---|---|--|
| Date | Title | Author | |
| 11 September 2019 | Proposed Insolvency Practitioners Regulations: Release of Discussion Paper | Office of the Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs | |
| 11 September 2019 | DEV-19-MIN-0243 | Cabinet Office – Cabinet Economic Development Committee | |

Information redacted

NO

Any information redacted in this document is redacted in accordance with MBIE's policy on Proactive Release and is labelled with the reason for redaction. This may include information that would be redacted if this information was requested under Official Information Act 1982. Where this is the case, the reasons for withholding information are listed below. Where information has been withheld, no public interest has been identified that would outweigh the reasons for withholding it.

© Crown Copyright, Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)



Cabinet Economic Development Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Proposed Insolvency Practitioners Regulations: Release of Discussion Paper

Portfolio Commerce and Consumer Affairs

On 11 September 2019, the Cabinet Economic Development Committee (DEV):

- 1 **noted** that the Insolvency Practitioners Regulation Act 2019 and the Insolvency Practitioners Regulation (Amendments) Act 2019 were passed in June 2019 and come fully into force in June 2020;
- 2 **noted** that regulations are required to implement the Insolvency Practitioners Regulation Act 2019 and give effect to amendments made by the Insolvency Practitioners Regulation (Amendments) Act 2019;
- 3 **noted** that the Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs proposes that the Registrar of Companies' costs in carrying out its functions, powers and duties in relation to oversight should be met by a levy on companies;
- 4 **noted** that the discussion paper *Implementation of the Insolvency Practitioners Regulation Act 2019: Proposed Regulations* (the discussion paper), attached to the submission under DEV 19-SUB-0243 proposes that:
 - 4.1 fees be paid by licensed practitioners to recover the cost of updating and maintaining the register;
 - 4.2 a levy on all registered companies to cover the costs of oversight be collected alongside new company registrations and all company annual returns;
 - 4.3 regulations be made relating to the information maintained on the register and the ability to develop conditions for accreditation;
- 5 **authorised** the release of the discussion paper for public consultation, subject to any minor or technical amendments that may be authorised by the Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs before its release;
- 6 **noted** that the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment will undertake targeted consultation on the content of the reports to be prepared by insolvency practitioners;
- 7 **noted** that the Registrar of Companies intends to carry out targeted and public consultation on proposed minimum standards for licensing of insolvency practitioners and accreditation of professional bodies, in September 2019;

IN CONFIDENCE

IN CONFIDENCE

- 8 **invited** the Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs to report back to DEV in December 2019 on the outcome of consultation and to seek approval of:
 - 8.1 final policy proposals for regulations under the Insolvency Practitioners Regulation Act 2019 and to give effect to amendments made by the Insolvency Practitioners Regulation (Amendments) Act 2019;
 - 8.2 relevant appropriation changes.

| Jack Petterson | |
|---|--|
| Committee Secretary | |
| eominitee Secretary | |
| Present: Hon Kelvin Davis | Officials present from: Officials Committee for DEV |
| Hon Phil Twyford (Chair) | |
| Hon Dr Megan Woods | |
| Hon Chris Hipkins Hon Stuart Nash | |
| Hon Stuart Nash Hon Iain Lees-Galloway | |
| Hon Jenny Salesa | |
| Hon Shane Jones | |
| Hon Kris Faafoi | |
| Hon Willie Jackson | |
| Hon James Shaw | |
| Hon Eugenie Sage | |
| | |
| Hard-copy distribution: | |
| Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs | |
| O ALC U | |
| BRD | |