



COVERSHEET

Minister	Hon Jenny Salesa	Portfolio	Building and Construction
Title of Cabinet paper	Building System Legislative Reform Programme: Release of Discussion Paper	Date of release	17 May 2019

List of docum Date	Title	Author
3 April 2019	Building System Legislative Reform Programme: Release of Discussion Paper	Office of the Minister for Building and Construction
3 April 2019	DEV-19-MIN-0066	Secretary of Cabinet DEV Committee

Information redacted

YES

Any information redacted in this document is redacted in accordance with MBIE's policy on Proactive Release and is labelled with the reason for redaction. This may include information that would be redacted if this information was requested under Official Information Act 1982.

© Crown Copyright, Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)



Cabinet Economic Development Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Building System Legislative Reform Programme: Release of Discussion Paper

Portfolio Building and Construction

On 3 April 2019, the Cabinet Economic Development Committee (DEV):

- 1 **noted** that significant legislative changes are proposed to address gaps in the building regulatory system and align it with best regulatory practice;
- 2 agreed to release the discussion paper and summary documents on the proposed building system legislative reform, attached to the paper under DEV-19-SUB-0066, as a basis for public consultation on the proposed changes;
- 3 authorised the Minister for Building and Construction to make minor amendments and refinements to the discussion paper and summary documents, including in relation to Part 4 (Risk and Liability), before they are released;

4	Confidential advice to Government
5	Confidential advice to Government
Janine Comn	e Harvey nittee Secretary

Hard-copy distribution: (see over)

IN CONFIDENCE

Present:

Rt Hon Winston Peters Hon Kelvin Davis Hon Grant Robertson (Chair) Hon Phil Twyford Hon Dr Megan Woods Hon David Parker Hon Nanaia Mahuta Hon Stuart Nash Hon Iain Lees-Galloway Hon Jenny Salesa Hon Shane Jones Hon Kris Faafoi Hon Julie Anne Genter Hon Eugenie Sage

Hard-copy distribution:

Minister for Building and Construction

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for DEV Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment