

MINISTRY OF BUSINESS, INNOVATION & EMPLOYMENT HĪKINA WHAKATUTUKI



COVERSHEET

Minister	Hon Iain Lees-Galloway	Portfolio	Workplace Relations and Safety
Title of Cabinet paper	Amending the Code of Good Faith in Collective Bargaining	Date of release	17 May 2019

List of documents to be proactively released

Date	Title	Author	
10 April 2019	Cabinet paper: Amending the Code of Good Faith in Collective Bargaining	Office of Hon Iain Lees- Galloway	
	Cabinet paper attachment: Proposed Code of Good Faith in Collective Bargaining	Committee for the Code of Good Faith in Collective Bargaining	
	Cabinet Economic Development Committee: Minute of Decision (DEV-19-MIN-0085)	Cabinet Office	

Information redacted

NO

© Crown Copyright, Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)



Cabinet Economic Development Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Code of Good Faith in Collective Bargaining: Proposed Amendments

Portfolio Workplace Relations and Safety

On 10 April 2019, the Cabinet Economic Development Committee:

- 1 noted that in February 2019, the Minister for Workplace Relations and Safety (the Minister) appointed a committee to review the Code of Good Faith in Collective Bargaining (the Code) [APH-19-MIN-0004];
- 2 **noted** that the Minister agrees with the committee's recommendations, and intends to approve a revised Code of Good Faith in Collective Bargaining, as outlined in the attachment to the paper under DEV-19-SUB-0085;
- 3 **noted** that the revised Code will be effective from 6 May 2019, which is when the remaining provisions of the Employment Relations Amendment Act 2018 come into force.

Janine Harvey Committee Secretary

Present:

Rt Hon Winston Peters (Chair) Hon Phil Twyford Hon David Parker Hon Stuart Nash Hon Iain Lees-Galloway Hon Jenny Salesa Hon Kris Faafoi Hon James Shaw **Officials present from:** Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for DEV

Hard-copy distribution: Minister for Workplace Relations and Safety