

# Cabinet Economic Growth and Infrastructure Committee

# **Minute of Decision**

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

## Independently Qualified Pool Inspectors: Proposed Fee Regulations

#### Portfolio Building and Housing

On 9 November 2016, the Cabinet Economic Growth and Infrastructure Committee:

- 1 **noted** that the Building (Pools) Amendment Act 2016:
  - 1.1 will commence on 1 January 2017;
  - 1.2 mandates three-yearly pool inspections that will be able to be carried out by territorial authorities or by independently qualified pool inspectors (IQPIs);
- 2 **noted** that the IQPI regime will be administered by the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE), and that regulations are required under the Building Act 2004 to set the fees to be charged to IQPIs in respect of acceptance and renewal as an IQPI;
- agreed that the following fees be prescribed in regulations:
  - 3.1 application for acceptance as an IQPI: \$300 (excluding GST);
  - 3.2 application for renewal as an IQPI: \$300 (excluding GST);
- 4 **agreed** that the period to be prescribed in regulation for the renewal of acceptance as an IQPI be an annual renewal period;
- invited the Minister for Building and Housing to issue drafting instructions to the Parliamentary Counsel Office for regulations prescribing the fees to be charged to IQPIs in respect of acceptance and renewal as an IQPI, and the form of the certificate of periodic inspection that will be issued by IQPIs;
- **noted** that a copy of the paper under EGI-16-SUB-0303 and the associated minute will be published on MBIE's website.

Janine Harvey Committee Secretary

Hard-copy distribution: (see over)

#### Present:

Hon Bill English (Chair)

Hon Gerry Brownlee

Hon Paula Bennett

Hon Amy Adams

Hon Simon Bridges

Hon Dr Nick Smith

Hon Nathan Guy

Hon Todd McClay

Hon Craig Foss

Hon Nicky Wagner

Hon Louise Upston

Hon Paul Goldsmith

Hon Te Ururoa Flavell

## Hard-copy distribution:

Cabinet Economic Growth and Infrastructure Committee Melleny Black, PAG, DPMC

## Officials present from:

Officials Committee for EGI