

Cabinet Legislation Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Trade Marks (International Registration) Amendment Regulations 2019

Portfolio Commerce and Consumer Affairs

On 12 February 2019, the Cabinet Legislation Committee:

- **noted** that on 17 October 2018, the Cabinet Economic Development Committee (DEV) agreed to amend the Trade Mark (International Registration) Regulations 2012 to take account of changes made to the Common Regulations [DEV-18-MIN-0232] to:
 - 1.1 introduce a division and merger procedure for international registrations;
 - 1.2 update the reference to the "Common Regulations under the Madrid Agreement Concerning the International Registration of Marks and the Protocol Relating to that Agreement" to reflect the change of name;
 - 1.3 provide a procedure when correction notifications are received from the World Intellectual Property Organiza ion;
 - 1.4 make several minor and technical amendments to aid interpretation of the regulations;
- 2 **noted** that the Trade Marks (International Registration) Amendment Regulations 2019 will give effect to the decision referred to in paragraph 1 above;
- 3 **authorised** the submission to the Executive Council of the Trade Marks (International Registration) Amendment Regulations 2019 [PCO 21721/8.0];
- 4 **noted** that most of the Trade Marks (International Registration) Amendment Regulations 2019 will come into force on the 28th day after they have been notified in the Gazette, with the change to the name of the Common Regulations [referred to in paragraph 1.2] coming into force on 1 February 2020.

Vivien Meek Committee Secretary

Hard-copy distribution (see over)

IN CONFIDENCE

Present:

Rt Hon Winston Peters Hon Chris Hipkins (Chair) Hon Andrew Little Hon Dr David Clark Hon David Parker Hon Stuart Nash Hon Tracey Martin Hon Julie Ann Genter Hon Eugenie Sage Hon Ruth Dyson (Senior Government Whip)

Hard-copy distribution:

Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs

Officials present from:

Officials Committee for LEG

ROACINELARE