

Cabinet Economic Development Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Electricity Price Review: Publication of Options Paper

Portfolio Energy and Resources

On 13 February 2019, the Cabinet Economic Development Committee (DEV):

- noted that the Electricity Price Review Panel (the Panel) was appointed in April 2018 to investigate whether the electricity sector, as it exists at present, is delivering a fair price to consumers, and whether the electricity market and the regulatory framework will continue to be appropriate in the future, and particularly with the emergence of new technologies [ENV-18-MIN-0004 and APH-18-MIN-0039];
- **noted** that on 5 September 2018, DEV noted the findings of the Panel's first report [DEV-18-MIN-0183];
- noted the contents of the Panel's options paper, attached to the submission under DEV-19-DEV-0013 (the options paper), which includes a number of options developed by the Panel for addressing the need for electricity prices to be fair and affordable, not just efficient or competitive;
- 4 **noted** that the options:
 - 4.1 are broad and address all aspects of the electricity sector;
 - 4.2 are designed to act as a package and often work in tandem with each other;
 - 4.3 range from being relatively mild to much more interventionist;
- **authorised** the Minister of Energy and Resources to release the options paper once final formatting has been completed, in late February 2019.

Janine Harvey Committee Secretary

Hard-copy distribution: (see over)

Present:

Rt Hon Winston Peters (part of item)

Hon Kelvin Davis

Hon Grant Robertson (Chair)

Hon Phil Twyford

Hon Dr Megan Woods

Hon David Parker

Hon Nanaia Mahuta

Hon Iain Lees-Galloway

Hon Jenny Salesa

Hon Damien O'Connor

Hon Shane Jones

Hon Kris Faafoi

Hon Willie Jackson (part of item)

Hon James Shaw

Hon Eugenie Sage

Hard-copy distribution:

Minister of Energy and Resources

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for DEV

