

# Cabinet Economic Development Committee

## Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

### Ticket Reselling in New Zealand: Release of Discussion Document

#### Portfolio Commerce and Consumer Affairs

On 13 February 2019, the Cabinet Economic Development Committee (DEV):

- 1 **noted** that the discussion document *Ticket Reselling in New Zealand* (the discussion document) outlines and seeks feedback on the key issues, objectives and potential options related to ticket reselling;
- 2 **noted** that the potential options outlined in the discussion document are as follows:
  - 2.1 maintain the status quo;
  - 2.2 price cap on resale tickets;
  - 2.3 information disclosure requirements;
  - 2.4 ban on ticket-buying bots;
  - 2.5 joint industry-government initiatives;
- 3 **agreed** to release the discussion document and the associated consumer summary, both of which are attached under DEV-19-SUB-0012, for public consultation, subject to any minor or technical amendments that may be required;
- 4 **noted** that the discussion document and consumer summary will be released for public consultation for a period of six weeks;
- 5 **invited** the Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs to report back to DEV by 31 October 2019 on the outcome of this consultation and any proposed policy changes.

Janine Harvey Committee Secretary

Hard-copy distribution: (see over)

#### IN CONFIDENCE

#### Present:

Hon Kelvin Davis Hon Grant Robertson (Chair) Hon Phil Twyford Hon Dr Megan Woods Hon David Parker Hon Nanaia Mahuta Hon Iain Lees-Galloway Hon Jenny Salesa Hon Damien O'Connor Hon Shane Jones Hon Kris Faafoi Hon Willie Jackson Hon James Shaw Hon Julie Anne Genter

Hard-copy distribution:

Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs

#### Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for DEV