



COVERSHEET

Minister	Hon Erica Stanford	Portfolio	Immigration
Title of Cabinet paper	Immigration (Visa, Entry Permission, and Related Matters) Amendment Regulations (No 4) 2024	Date to be published	15 October 2024

List of documents that have been proactively released			
Date	Title	Author	
12 September 2024	Immigration (Visa, Entry Permission, and Related Matters) Amendment Regulations (No 4) 2024	Office of the Minister of Immigration	
19 September 2024	LEG-24-MIN-0188	Cabinet Office	

Information redacted

YES / NO

Any information redacted in this document is redacted in accordance with MBIE's policy on Proactive Release and is labelled with the reason for redaction. This may include information that would be redacted if this information was requested under Official Information Act 1982. Where this is the case, the reasons for withholding information are listed below. Where information has been withheld, no public interest has been identified that would outweigh the reasons for withholding it.

© Crown Copyright, Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)



Cabinet Legislation Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Immigration (Visa, Entry Permission and Related Matters) Amendment Regulations (No 4) 2024

Portfolio Immigration

On 19 September 2024, the Cabinet Legislation Committee:

- 1 **noted** that, on 24 July 2024, the Cabinet Economic Policy Committee agreed [ECO-24-MIN-0131]:
 - 1.1 to make the following classes of person visa waiver for travel to New Zealand on the condition they hold a valid NZeTA:
 - 1.1.1 cargo ship passengers and crew; and
 - 1.1.2 crew of foreign ship authorised by the Minister of Transport under section 198(2) of the Maritime Transport Act 1994 to carry coastal cargo;
 - 1.2 that the classes of person specified above are deemed to hold a visa and entry permission on arrival in New Zealand if they hold an NZeTA or are exempt from the requirement to do so;
 - 1.3 that the existing NZeTA policy framework apply to the classes of person above, as follows:
 - 1.3.1 maritime or aircraft crew are not required to pay the International Visitor Conservation and Tourism Levy (IVL) when they request a Crew NZeTA;
 - 1.3.2 a request for a Traveller NZeTA must be accompanied by payment of the IVL;
 - 1.3.3 crew flying to New Zealand to join a vessel or craft they are working on can travel to New Zealand on their Crew NZeTA and apply for a visa and entry permission on arrival (rather than applying for a visitor visa prior to travel);
 - 1.4 that any photos of customers' heads submitted with NZeTA requests be of acceptable quality;
- 2 **noted** that the Immigration (Visa, Entry Permission, and Related Matters) Amendment Regulations (No 4) 2024 (the Amendment Regulations) will give effect to the decisions referred to in paragraph 1 above;

- 3 **noted** that the timing for the Amendment Regulations coming into force is as follows:
 - 3.1 NZeTA photos will be required to be of acceptable quality on 24 October 2024;
 - 3.2 cargo ship crew and passengers will be able to apply for an NZeTA on 3 February 2025;
 - 3.3 the requirement for cargo ship crew and passengers, including those crew of foreign ships authorised by the Minister of Transport to carry coastal cargo, to hold an NZeTA before travel to New Zealand will come into force on 1 April 2025;
- 4 **noted** that section 403A of the Immigration Act 2009 requires that the Amendment Regulations be made only on the recommendation of the Minister of Immigration, and that the Minister recommends that they be made;
- 5 **authorised** the submission to the Executive Council of the Immigration (Visa, Entry Permission, and Related Matters) Amendment Regulations (No 4) 2024 [PCO 26673/8.0].

Tom Kelly Committee Secretary

Present:

Rt Hon Winston Peters (Chair) Hon Nicola Willis Hon Shane Jones Hon Brooke van Velden Hon Dr Shane Reti Hon Erica Stanford Hon Judith Collins KC Hon Mark Mitchell Hon Tama Potaka Hon Casey Costello Hon Nicole McKee Hon Matt Doocey Hon Andrew Bayly Hon Scott Simpson, MP Jamie Arbuckle, MP Todd Stephenson, MP

Officials present from: Officials Committee for LEG Prime Minister's Office