

MINISTRY OF BUSINESS, INNOVATION & EMPLOYMENT



COVERSHEET

Minister	Hon Dr Ayesha Verrall	Portfolio	Research, Science and Innovation		
Minister	Hon Barbara Edmonds	Portfolio	Economic Development		
Minister	Hon Kiri Allan	Portfolio	o Associate Transport		
Title of Cabinet paper	Release of the Aotearoa New Zealand Aerospace Strategy	Date to be published	14 August 2023		

List of documents that have been proactively released					
Date	Title	Author			
June 2023	Release of the Aotearoa New Zealand Aerospace Strategy	Offices of the Minister of Research, Science and Innovation; Office of the Minister for Economic Development; Office of the Associate Minister of Transport			
7 June 2023	Release of the Aotearoa New Zealand Aerospace Strategy DEV-23-MIN-0104 Minute	Cabinet Office			

Information redacted

YES

Any information redacted in this document is redacted in accordance with MBIE's policy on Proactive Release and is labelled with the reason for redaction. This may include information that would be redacted if this information was requested under Official Information Act 1982. Where this is the case, the reasons for withholding information are listed below. Where information has been withheld, no public interest has been identified that would outweigh the reasons for withholding it.

Some information has been withheld for the reasons of commercial information, confidential information entrusted to Government, confidential advice to Government and legal professional privilege.

© Crown Copyright, Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)



Cabinet Economic Development Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Release of the Aotearoa New Zealand Aerospace Strategy

Portfolios Research, Science and Innovation / Associate Transport / Economic Development

On 7 June 2023, the Cabinet Economic Development Committee (DEV):

- 1 **noted** that on 24 August 2022, DEV agreed to the release of a consultation document on the proposed Aotearoa New Zealand Aerospace Strategy (the Strategy) [DEV-22-MIN-0200];
- 2 **noted** that feedback from the public consultation period was used to inform development of the Strategy;
- **3 approved** the release of the Strategy, attached to the paper under DEV-23-SUB-0104;
- 4 **authorised** the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment to make design and minor editorial changes to the Aotearoa New Zealand Aerospace Strategy prior to its release;
- 5 **noted** that the Strategy is intended to be released by July 2023;

Financial implications

- 6 **noted** that in order to use underspends to fund the implementation of the Strategy, inprinciple expense transfers are required from 2022/23 to 2023/24 and 2024/25 respectively;
- 7 **approved** in-principle expense transfers of up to the following maximum amounts of operating expenditure from 2022/23 to 2023/24 and 2024/25 respectively, to give effect to the policy decision above:

	\$ million – increase / (decrease)					
Vote Business Science and Innovation Minister of Research, Science and Innovation	2022/23	2023/24	2024/25	2025/26	2026/27 & Outyears	
Departmental output expenses: Research, Science and Innovation: Innovative Partnerships	(2.000)	2.000	-	-	-	
Non-departmental output expenses:						
Research, Science and Innovation: Innovative Partnerships Strategic 4h3ly8jslu 2023-06-13:10:48:23Fund	(10.000)	5.000 DENCE	5.000	-	- 1	

IN CONFIDENCE

- 8 **agreed** that the changes to appropriations above be included in the 2022/23 Supplementary Estimates and that, in the interim, the increase be met from Imprest Supply;
- **9 authorised** the Minister of Finance and the Minister of Research, Science and Innovation to jointly agree the final amounts to be transferred, following the completion of the 2022/23 audited financial statements, with no impact on the operating balance and/or net debt across the forecast period.

Janine Harvey Committee Secretary

Present:

Hon Grant Robertson (Chair) Hon Michael Wood Hon Dr Ayesha Verrall Hon Willie Jackson Hon Kiri Allan Hon David Parker Hon Peeni Henare Hon Priyanca Radhakrishnan Hon Dr Duncan Webb Hon Dr Deborah Russell Hon Rachel Brooking Hon Jo Luxton **Officials present from:** Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for DEV