



## **COVERSHEET**

Minister	Hon Peeni Henare	Portfolio	Tourism
Title of Cabinet paper	Tourism Industry Transformation Plan: final Better Work Action Plan	Date to be published	7 March 2023

List of documents that have been proactively released			
Date	Title	Author	
December 2022	Tourism Industry Transformation Plan: final Better Work Action Plan	Office of the Minister of Tourism	
7 December 2022	Tourism Industry Transformation Plan: Release of final Better Work Action Plan	Cabinet Office	
	DEV-22-MIN-0292 Minute		

#### Information redacted

YES

Any information redacted in this document is redacted in accordance with MBIE's and MFAT's policy on Proactive Release and is labelled with the reason for redaction. This may include information that would be redacted if this information was requested under Official Information Act 1982. Where this is the case, the reasons for withholding information are listed below. Where information has been withheld, no public interest has been identified that would outweigh the reasons for withholding it.

Some information has been withheld for the reason of Confidential advice to Government.

© Crown Copyright, Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)



# **Cabinet Economic Development Committee**

### Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

# Tourism Industry Transformation Plan: Release of Final Better Work Action Plan

Portfolio Tourism

On 7 December 2022, the Cabinet Economic Development Committee (DEV):

#### **Background**

- **noted** that the Tourism Industry Transformation Plan is taking a phased approach, with Phase One focused on enabling 'Better Work' for people working in the industry, and Phase Two looking at the environment;
- 2 **noted** that:
  - on 3 August 2022, DEV agreed to the release of the draft *Better Work Action Plan* for public consultation [DEV-22-MIN-0173];
  - the *Better Work Action Plan* has been amended to take into account feedback from the consultation, survey results, and the Tourism Industry Transformation Plan Leadership Group;

#### **Final Better Work Action Plan**

- **noted** that the six proposals/Tirohanga Hou to address key challenges in the tourism industry in the final *Better Work Action Plan* are:
  - 3.1 recognising quality employers and improving employment standards and practices;
  - 3.2 fit-for-purpose education and training;
  - 3.3 embrace the flux, enable the flex;
  - 3.4 improving cultural competency and ensuring authentic storytelling;
  - 3.5 lifting technology uptake and innovation to support better work;
  - 3.6 showcasing the great pathways and people in tourism;
- 4 **approved** the final *Better Work Action Plan*, attached as Appendix Two to the paper under DEV-22-SUB-0292;

- agreed that the Minister of Tourism will work with relevant stakeholders to progress plans to launch the final *Better Work Action Plan* in early 2023, or such other date as determined by the Minister of Tourism;
- **authorised** the Minister of Tourism to make minor or technical amendments to the final *Better Work Action Plan* prior to its release;

#### Implementation

- 7 **noted** that the establishment of a Tourism and Hospitality Accord has been identified as a priority for implementation;
- 8 **noted** that implementation of all recommended actions in the final *Better Work Action Plan* will require funding from partners and government, Confidential advice to Government
- 9 **noted** that the Minister of Tourism will report back to DEV with an update on the progress of implementation in mid-2023, when Cabinet decisions will likely be sought for the Environment phase of the Tourism Industry Transformation Plan.

Jenny Vickers Committee Secretary

#### Present:

Hon Grant Robertson Hon Dr Megan Woods

Hon Andrew Little

Hon Nanaia Mahuta

Hon Damien O'Connor

Hon Stuart Nash

Hon Michael Wood

Hon Kiri Allan

Hon Dr David Clark

Hon Dr Ayesha Verrall

Hon Meka Whaitiri Hon Phil Twyford

Rino Tirikatene MP

Dr Deborah Russell MP

#### Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister
Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
Officials Committee for DEV
Office of the Chair of DEV