



COVERSHEET

Minister	Hon Dr David Clark	Portfolio	Commerce and Consumer Affairs
Title of briefing	Preventing financial hardship caused by the use of Buy-Now, Pay-Later	Date to be published	10 November 2022

List of documents that have been proactively released			
Date	Title	Author	
October 2022	Preventing financial hardship caused by the use of Buy-Now, Pay-Later	Office of the Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs	
27 October 2022	Preventing Financial Hardship Caused by the use of Buy-Now, Pay-Later GOV-22-MIN-0038 Minute	Cabinet Office	
20 October 2022	Regulatory Impact Statement: Applying the Credit Contracts and Consumer Finance Act in a proportionate way to Buy-Now, Pay-Later arrangements	MBIE	

Information redacted

YES / NO

Any information redacted in this document is redacted in accordance with MBIE's policy on Proactive Release and is labelled with the reason for redaction. This may include information that would be redacted if this information was requested under Official Information Act 1982. Where this is the case, the reasons for withholding information are listed below. Where information has been withheld, no public interest has been identified that would outweigh the reasons for withholding it.

Some information has been withheld for the reason of Confidentiality.

© Crown Copyright, Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)



Cabinet Government Administration and Expenditure Review Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Preventing Financial Hardship Caused by the use of Buy-Now, Pay-Later

Portfolio Commerce and Consumer Affairs

On 27 October 2022, the Cabinet Government Administration and Expenditure Review Committee:

- **noted** that Buy-Now, Pay-Later (BNPL) is not currently subject to the consumer protections in the Credit Contracts and Consumer Finance Act 2003 (CCCFA);
- agreed that BNPL contracts be declared to be consumer credit contracts under the CCCFA;
- agreed that BNPL with credit amounts below a threshold be exempt from requirements to assess affordability under the CCCFA on the conditions that:
 - 3.1 creditors instead obtain comprehensive credit reporting information; and
 - 3.2 creditors provide comprehensive credit reporting information back into the credit reporting system;
- 4 **agreed** to consult on a threshold of \$600;
- agreed that affordability assessments be required for BNPL with credit amounts above the threshold and that consultation occur on two options:
 - affordability assessments in accordance with the process prescribed in the Credit Contracts and Consumer Finance Regulations 2004; or
 - affordability assessments in accordance with the CCCFA's principles-based requirement to make reasonable inquiries into the affordability of a loan, but not the process prescribed in the Credit Contracts and Consumer Finance Regulations;
- agreed that as a condition of any exemption, default fees (for missed or late instalments) and the timing of instalments must be made clear to the consumer at the point of each purchase using BNPL;
- 7 **agreed** to give effect to the above decisions through regulations under the CCCFA;
- authorised the Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs to approve and release an exposure draft of the regulations for public feedback;

- 9 authorised the Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs to make additional policy decisions and minor or technical changes to the policy decisions in the paper under GOV-22-SUB-0038, consistent with the general policy intent, on issues that arise in drafting of the regulations;
- authorised the Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs to issue drafting instructions to the Parliamentary Counsel Office to give effect to the above decisions.

Vivien Meek Committee Secretary

Present:

Hon Grant Robertson (Chair)
Hon David Parker
Hon Damien O'Connor
Hon Stuart Nash
Hon Peeni Henare
Hon Michael Wood
Hon Dr David Clark
Hon Meka Whaitiri

Deborah Russell, MP

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for GOV