



COVERSHEET

Minister	Hon Poto Williams	Portfolio	Building and Construction
Title of Cabinet paper	Proposal to increase the annual registration fee under the Engineering Associates Fees Regulations 2002	Date to be published	4 April 2022

List of documents that have been proactively released			
Date	Title	Author	
16 February 2022	Proposal to increase the annual registration fee under the Engineering Associates Fees Regulations 2002	Office of the Minister for Building and Construction	
16 February 2022	DEV-22-MIN-0008	Cabinet Office	
2 February 2022	Stage 2 Cost Recovery Impact Statement	MBIE	

Information redacted

NO

Any information redacted in this document is redacted in accordance with MBIE's policy on Proactive Release and is labelled with the reason for redaction. This may include information that would be redacted if this information was requested under Official Information Act 1982. Where this is the case, the reasons for withholding information are listed below. Where information has been withheld, no public interest has been identified that would outweigh the reasons for withholding it.

© Crown Copyright, Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)



Cabinet Economic Development Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Engineering Associates Fees Amendment Regulations 2022

Portfolio Building and Construction

On 16 February 2022, the Cabinet Economic Development Committee:

- **noted** that the Engineering Associates Act 1961 provides for a voluntary credential of 'Registered Engineering Associate' to be held by those who meet the minimum standards for registration;
- 2 **noted** that the Registered Engineering Associates scheme should be fully cost-recovered from fees paid by registered persons and set by Order in Council;
- noted that the number of Registered Engineering Associates has steadily declined, and that annual registration fees received by the Engineering Associates Registration Board do not adequately recover the Board's costs;
- 4 **noted** that the Engineering Associates Registration Board has reported deficits in recent years, is drawing on reserves to meet its normal operating costs, and projects it will not have funds to operate by 2023/24;
- 5 **noted** that the Minister for Building and Construction intends to address the longer term future of the Registered Engineering Associates scheme as part of legislative reforms to the occupational regulation of engineers;
- **noted** that an interim solution is needed to ensure that the Engineering Associates Registration Board can meet its statutory obligations over the next three years;
- **agreed** to amend the Engineering Associates Fees Regulations 2002 to increase the annual registration fee from \$95.00 to \$200.00 (including GST);
- 8 **agreed** that the fee increase referred to above will apply from 1 April 2022;
- **agreed** to remove the discount of \$10.00, currently provided under the Fees Regulations, when the annual registration fee is paid before 1 July;

Legislative implications

- noted that the Engineering Associates Fees Amendment Regulations 2022 will give effect to the decisions referred to in paragraphs 7 to 9 above;
- authorised the submission to the Executive Council of the Engineering Associates Fees Amendment Regulations 2022 [PCO 24324/2.0];

- **noted** that the Engineering Associates Fees Amendment Regulations 2022 come into force on 1 April 2022;
- 13 **noted** that the Engineering Associates Registration Board will communicate the fee increase to Registered Engineering Associates, and to people considering applying for registration in 2022.

Janine Harvey Committee Secretary

Present:

Hon Grant Robertson (Chair)

Hon Dr Megan Woods

Hon Carmel Sepuloni

Hon David Parker

Hon Poto Williams

Hon Damien O'Connor

Hon Stuart Nash

Hon Kris Faafoi

Hon Michael Wood

Hon Dr David Clark

Hon Dr Ayesha Verrall

Hon Meka Whaitiri

Hon Phil Twyford

Rino Tirikatene MP

Dr Deborah Russell MP

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for DEV