



COVERSHEET

| Minister | Hon Dr Megan Woods | Portfolio | Energy and Resources |
|---------------------------|--|----------------------|----------------------|
| Title of Cabinet paper | Exempting certain classes of electricity industry participant from the requirement to register | Date to be published | 13 December 2021 |

| List of documents that have been proactively released | | | |
|---|---|---|--|
| Date | Title | Author | |
| October 2021 | Exempting certain classes of electricity industry participant from the requirement to register | Office of the Minister of Energy and Resources | |
| 27 October 2021 | Exempting certain classes of electricity industry participant from the requirement to register DEV-21-MIN-0201 Minute | Cabinet Office | |
| October 2021 | Impact Summary: Exempting certain classes of electricity industry participant from the requirement to register | MBIE | |

Information redacted

NO

Any information redacted in this document is redacted in accordance with MBIE's policy on Proactive Release and is labelled with the reason for redaction. This may include information that would be redacted if this information was requested under Official Information Act 1982. Where this is the case, the reasons for withholding information are listed below. Where information has been withheld, no public interest has been identified that would outweigh the reasons for withholding it.

© Crown Copyright, Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)



Cabinet Economic Development Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Exempting Certain Classes of Electricity Industry Participant from the Requirement to Register

Portfolio Energy and Resources

On 27 October 2021, the Cabinet Economic Development Committee:

noted that the Electricity Industry Act 2010 requires all electricity participants to register with the Electricity Authority, and that the register (including contact details) is publicly available on the Authority's website;

2 **noted** that:

- 2.1 owners of small-scale distributed generation, and those that own metering equipment at the property at which they consume electricity, are currently required to register with the Electricity Authority;
- 2.2 for the vast majority of these participants, registration involves providing personal contact details, which raises privacy concerns;
- **noted** that participant registration for these two classes of industry participant is of no benefit to either the Electricity Authority or the consumer, and is costly to administer;
- 4 **noted** that the Minister of Energy and Resources (the Minister), after receiving a recommendation from the Electricity Authority, may make regulations exempting a class of electricity industry participants from the obligation to register as participants;
- 5 **noted** that the Electricity Authority has made a recommendation to exempt these two classes of industry participant, unless they also have to register as another class of participant, and that the Minister proposes to accept this recommendation;
- **agreed** to exempt the following two classes of industry participants from the obligation to register with the Electricity Authority as a participant, unless the owner also has to register as another class of participant:
 - 6.1 owners of distributed generation with less than 100 kW of nameplate capacity connected to a distributor's network;
 - 6.2 metering equipment owners that only own metering equipment to measure electricity at the installation connection point (ICP) where they consume electricity;
- 7 **invited** the Minister to issue drafting instructions to the Parliamentary Counsel Office to give effect to paragraph 6 above;

8 authorised the Minister to make decisions consistent with the overall policy decisions in the paper under DEV-21-SUB-0201 on any minor and technical issues that may arise in the drafting process.

Janine Harvey **Committee Secretary**

Present:

Hon Grant Robertson (Chair)

Hon Dr Megan Woods

Hon David Parker

Hon Poto Williams

Hon Stuart Nash Hon Kris Faafoi

Hon Willie Jackson

Hon Michael Wood

Hon Kiri Allan

Hon Dr David Clark

Hon Meka Whaitiri

Hon Phil Twyford

Rino Tirikatene MP

Dr Deborah Russell MP

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for DEV