



COVERSHEET

Minister	Hon Kris Faafoi	Portfolio	Immigration
Title of Cabinet paper	Immigration (COVID-19 Response) Amendment Bill 2021	Date to be published	1 April 2021

List of documents that have been proactively released			
Date	Title	Author	
February 2021	Immigration (COVID-19 Response) Amendment Act 2020: proposed extension of powers	Office of the Minister of Immigration	
24 February 2021	Immigration (COVID-19 Response) Amendment Act 2020: proposed extension of powers DEV-21-MIN-0016	Cabinet Office	
March 2021	Immigration (COVID-19 Response) Amendment Bill 2021: Approval for Introduction	Office of the Minister of Immigration	
25 March 2021	Immigration (COVID-19 Response) Amendment Bill 2021 LEG-21-MIN-0030	Cabinet Office	

Information redacted

YES

Any information redacted in this document is redacted in accordance with MBIE's policy on Proactive Release and is labelled with the reason for redaction. This may include information that would be redacted if this information was requested under Official Information Act 1982. Where this is the case, the reasons for withholding information are listed below. Where information has been withheld, no public interest has been identified that would outweigh the reasons for withholding it.

Some information has been withheld for the reason of Confidential advice to Government.

© Crown Copyright, Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)



Cabinet Economic Development Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Immigration (COVID-19 Response) Amendment Act 2020: Proposed Extension of Powers

Portfolio Immigration

On 24 February 2021, the Cabinet Economic Development Committee (DEV):

- noted that the Immigration (COVID-19 Response) Amendment Act 2020 (the 2020 Act) introduced eight powers to provide additional flexibility in the immigration system to support appropriate and efficient responses to the COVID-19 outbreak;
- **noted** that the powers under the 2020 Act are subject to a number of safeguards, including that:
 - 2.1 most can only be exercised through a special direction (in the case of groups, only by the Minister of Immigration, through an instrument that must be published);
 - 2.2 the decision maker must be satisfied in each case that the exercise of the power (such as the making of the special direction) is reasonably necessary to manage the effects and deal with the consequences of measures taken to contain or mitigate the outbreak of COVID-19;
 - 2.3 almost all powers can only be exercised to benefit (or at a minimum not disadvantage) visa holders, while the major exception to this (the ability to suspend the making of applications) must be done through regulations;
- noted that the powers under the 2020 Act are due to be repealed on 15 May 2021;
- 4 **agreed** to amend the Immigration Act 2009 to extend by a further two years the date of repeal of the powers granted to the Minister of Immigration under the 2020 Act to respond to the COVID-19 situation;
- **agreed** to extend the duration of regulations made under the power to suspend the ability to make applications for visas by classes of people, from three to six months;
- 6 **invited** the Minister of Immigration to report back to DEV at a later date to discuss a broader review of the Immigration Act 2009, including whether these powers should be maintained beyond the COVID-19 pandemic and the implications for the provision of any social welfare support provided by the Ministry for Social Development;

Confidential advice to Government

- 8 **invited** the Minister of Immigration to issue drafting instructions to the Parliamentary Counsel Office to amend the Immigration Act 2009 in accordance with the above paragraphs;
- 9 authorised the Minister of Immigration to make decisions on any minor or technical matters, consistent with the policy proposals in the paper under DEV-21-SUB-0016, that may arise during the drafting process.

Janine Harvey Committee Secretary

Present:

Hon Grant Robertson (Chair)

Hon Dr Megan Woods

Hon Carmel Sepuloni

Hon David Parker

Hon Poto Williams

Hon Damien O'Connor

Hon Stuart Nash

Hon Kris Faafoi

Hon Michael Wood

Hon Dr David Clark

Hon Dr Ayesha Verrall

Hon Meka Whaitiri

Hon Phil Twyford

Rino Tirikatene, MP

Dr Deborah Russell, MP

Hard-copy distribution:

Minister of Immigration

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for DEV