



COVERSHEET

Minister	Hon Stuart Nash	Portfolio	Small Business
Title of Cabinet paper	Order in Council requiring New Zealand Business Numbers for COVID-19 Resurgence Support Payments Scheme and the Digital Boost Programme	Date to be published	29 March 2021

List of documents that have been proactively released			
Date	Title	Author	
February 2021	Order in Council requiring New Zealand Business Numbers for COVID-19 Resurgence Support Payments Scheme and the Digital Boost Programme	Office of the Minister for Small Business	
18 February 2021	LEG-21-MIN-0011	Cabinet Office	

Information redacted

YES / NO [select one]

Any information redacted in this document is redacted in accordance with MBIE's policy on Proactive Release and is labelled with the reason for redaction. This may include information that would be redacted if this information was requested under Official Information Act 1982. Where this is the case, the reasons for withholding information are listed below. Where information has been withheld, no public interest has been identified that would outweigh the reasons for withholding it.

© Crown Copyright, Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)



Cabinet Legislation Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Order in Council requiring New Zealand Business Numbers for COVID-19 Resurgence Support Payments Scheme and the Digital Boost Programme

Portfolio Small Business

On 18 February 2021, the Cabinet Legislation Committee:

- 1 **noted** that an Order in Council, made under the New Zealand Business Number Act 2016, can authorise a government agency to require an entity to which it provides services to provide the agency a New Zealand Business Number (NZBN);
- 2 **noted** that on 14 December 2020, Cabinet agreed to the establishment of the COVID-19 Resurgence Support Payments Scheme [CAB-20-MIN-0531];
- 3 **noted** that Cabinet authorised the Minister of Finance, the Minister of Revenue, and the Minister for Small Business (Joint Ministers for the Resurgence Support Payments Scheme) to jointly take decisions relating to further design details and operational matters for the COVID-19 Resurgence Support Payment;
- 4 **noted** that the Joint Ministers for the Resurgence Support Payments Scheme agreed to require applicants to provide their NZBN;
- 5 noted that on 11 May 2020, Cabinet agreed to establish a tagged operating contingency of up to \$10 million in Vote: Business, Science and Innovation, for 'Supporting Small Businesses into Digital Commerce' to support small businesses to move into digital commerce and support their long-term business transformation [CAB-20-MIN-0219.04];
- 6 **noted** that the Minister for Small Business proposes that entities applying for support under the Digital Boost programme must provide their NZBN;
- 7 **noted** that the Minister has meet the requirements of the Act to make the proposals in paragraphs 4 and 6;
- 8 **noted** that the New Zealand Business Number (Authority to Require NZBN) Amendment Regulations 2021 will give effect to paragraphs 4 and 6;
- 9 **noted** that a waiver of the 28-day rule is sought:
 - 9.1 so that the regulations can come into force on 23 February 2021;

IN CONFIDENCE

- 9.2 on the grounds that requiring applicants to provide their NZBN will help prevent fraudulent applications, and that not allowing a waiver may provide an opportunity for fraudulent applications should the Scheme be activated prior to the expiry of the 28 days;
- 10 **authorised** the submission to the Executive Council of the New Zealand Business Number (Authority to Require NZBN) Amendment Regulations 2021 [PCO 23336/8.0].

Charlotte Doyle Committee Secretary

Present:

Hon Chris Hipkins (Chair) Hon Carmel Sepuloni Hon Andrew Little Hon David Parker Hon Nanaia Mahuta Hon Poto Williams Hon Stuart Nash Hon Kris Faafoi Hon Michael Wood (Deputy Chair) Hon Kiri Allan Hon Dr David Clark Hon Meka Whaitiri Kieran McAnulty, MP (Senior Government Whip) **Officials present from:** Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for LEG

Hard-copy distribution:

Minister for Small Business