



COVERSHEET

Minister	Hon Kris Faafoi	Portfolio	Immigration
Title of Cabinet paper	Immigration (Visa, Entry Permission, and Related Matters) Amendment (COVID- 19—Applications and Fees) Regulations (No 3) 2020	Date to be published	25 February 2021

List of documents that have been proactively released			
Date	Title	Author	
December 2020	Immigration (Visa, Entry Permission, and Related Matters) Amendment (COVID-19—Applications and Fees) Regulations (No 3) 2020	Office of the Minister of Immigration	
16 December 2021	CBC-20-MIN-0138	Cabinet Office	

Information redacted

YES / NO [select one]

Any information redacted in this document is redacted in accordance with MBIE's policy on Proactive Release and is labelled with the reason for redaction. This may include information that would be redacted if this information was requested under Official Information Act 1982. Where this is the case, the reasons for withholding information are listed below. Where information has been withheld, no public interest has been identified that would outweigh the reasons for withholding it.

© Crown Copyright, Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)



Cabinet Business Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Immigration (Visa, Entry Permission, and Related Matters) Amendment (COVID-19—Applications and Fees) Regulations (No 3) 2020

Portfolio Immigration

On 16 December 2020, the Cabinet Business Committee, having been authorised by Cabinet to have Power to Act [CAB-20-MIN-0536]:

- 1 **noted** that:
 - 1.1 in July 2020, the Cabinet Business Committee agreed to suspend, for the maximum period of three months, the ability of people offshore to apply for, or express interest in applying for, most temporary entry class visa types [CBC-20-MIN-0069];
 - the Immigration (Visa, Entry Permission, and Related Matters) Amendment (COVID-19 – Applications and Fees) Regulations 2020, which came into effect on 10 August 2020, gave effect to the decision;
- 2 **noted** that:
 - 2.1 in October 2020, Cabinet agreed to continue the suspension [CAB-20-MIN-0448];
 - this was given effect through the Immigration (Visa, Entry Permission, and Related Matters) Amendment (COVID-19—Applications and Fees) Regulations (No 2) 2020, which came into effect on 9 November 2020 and will expire on 8 February 2021 unless extended through a further regulation change;
- **noted** that the Minister of Immigration considers that the suspension of applications should be continued beyond the February 2021 expiry date, and that this continues to be reasonably necessary to manage the effects of, or deal with the consequences of, the outbreak of COVID-19;
- 4 **agreed** to extend the current suspension of applications for, and expressions of interest in applying for, most offshore temporary visas for a further three months to 7 May 2021;
- 5 **agreed** that Ministers with Power to Act (the Minister of Immigration, the Minister of Foreign Affairs, the Minister of Housing and the Minister of Health) continue to be authorised to revoke the regulations, in whole or in part, should the Minister of Immigration recommend that:
 - 5.1 suspending the ability of persons outside of New Zealand from applying for a temporary entry class visa is no longer required; or

- 5.2 applications for certain temporary entry class visas should be reopened before the end of the suspension period;
- 6 **noted** that, in October 2020, Cabinet agreed that the suspension not apply to people applying for visas from within a Safe Travel Zone that is in effect, where they intend to travel to New Zealand from that Safe Travel Zone [CAB-20-MIN-0448];
- 7 **agreed** to a minor and technical change (removing wording at 9A(1)(aa)(ii), which refers to an Air Border Order) which will enable the Safe Travel Zone carve out to work as intended;
- 8 **noted** that the Immigration (Visa, Entry Permission, and Related Matters) Amendment (COVID-19—Applications and Fees) Regulations (No 3) 2020 give effect to the decisions in paragraphs 4 and 7 above;
- 9 **authorised** the submission to the Executive Council of the Immigration (Visa, Entry Permission, and Related Matters) Amendment (COVID-19—Applications and Fees) Regulations (No 3) 2020 [PCO 23312/9.0];
- 10 **agreed** that the amended date in the Immigration (Visa, Entry Permission, and Related Matters) Amendment (COVID-19—Applications and Fees) Regulations (No 3) 2020 come into effect on 8 February 2021;
- 11 **noted** that a waiver of the 28-day rule is sought for the minor and technical change in paragraph 7 above (removing wording):
 - 11.1 so that the regulations can come into force as soon as possible;
 - 11.2 on the grounds that this change will only confer benefits, as it will enable visarequired nationals in a Safe Travel Zone to apply for visas as soon as a Safe Travel Zone comes into effect;
- **agreed** to a waiver the 28-day rule for the minor and technical change in paragraph 7 above so that the regulations can come into force as soon as possible;
- 13 **noted** that if it is considered appropriate to continue suspending offshore temporary visa applications after 7 May 2021 the Minister of Immigration will return to Cabinet to seek further agreement;
- 14 **noted** that the power to make these regulations will expire, along with other immigration powers intended to respond to COVID-19, on 15 May 2021;
- 15 **invited** the Minister of Immigration to submit a proposal to Cabinet to amend the Immigration Act 2009 to extend or remove the expiry date for this and other relevant immigration COVID-19 powers early in 2021.

Gerrard Carter Committee Secretary

Present: (see over)

IN CONFIDENCE

Present:

Rt Hon Jacinda Ardern (Chair) Hon Grant Robertson Hon Kelvin Davis Hon Dr Megan Woods Hon Chris Hipkins Hon Andrew Little Hon David Parker Hon Nanaia Mahuta Hon Poto Williams Hon Damien O'Connor Hon Stuart Nash Hon Kris Faafoi Hon Jan Tinetti Hon Dr David Clark Hon Dr Ayesha Verrall Hon James Shaw

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet