



COVERSHEET

| Minister | Hon Kris Faafoi | Portfolio | Commerce and Consumer Affairs |
|----------|--|-------------------------|----------------------------------|
| | Credit contracts and consumer finance (residential earthquake prone building financial assistance scheme) amendment regulations 2020 | Date to be published | 9 September 2020 |

| List of documents that have been proactively released | | | |
|---|---|---|--|
| Date | Title | Author | |
| 31 August 2020 | Credit contracts and consumer finance (residential earthquake prone building financial assistance scheme) amendment regulations 2020 | Office of the Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs | |
| 31 August 2020 | LEG-20-SUB-0124 | Cabinet Legislation Committee | |

Information redacted

YES/NO

Any information redacted in this document is redacted in accordance with MBIE's policy on Proactive Release and is labelled with the reason for redaction. This may include information that would be redacted if this information was requested under Official Information Act 1982. Where this is the case, the reasons for withholding information are listed below. Where information has been withheld, no public interest has been identified that would outweigh the reasons for withholding it.

© Crown Copyright, Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)



Cabinet Legislation Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Credit Contracts and Consumer Finance (Residential Earthquake-prone Building Financial Assistance Scheme) Amendment Regulations 2020

Portfolio Commerce and Consumer Affairs

On 28 July 2020, the Cabinet Legislation Committee:

- **noted** that in January 2020, the Cabinet Business Committee agreed to the settings and parameters for a Residential Earthquake-Prone Building Financial Assistance Scheme and for Kāinga Ora to be the delivery agent for the loans scheme [CBC-20-MIN-0002];
- 2 **noted** that in June 2020, the Cabinet Economic Development Committee agreed to provide an exemption from the Credit Contracts and Consumer Finance Act 2003 (the Act) for credit contracts entered into under the Residential Earthquake-Prone Building Financial Assistance Scheme, subject to the following conditions:
 - 2.1 the loan agreement and loan terms and conditions must be in plain language;
 - 2.2 Kāinga Ora will disclose to the debtor a subset of information from Schedule 1 of the Act (key information concerning consumer credit contract) that is ascertainable and relevant to credit contracts under the scheme;
 - 2.3 Kāinga Ora will provide six-monthly account statements to the debtor containing the information from section 19 of the Act (content of continuing disclosure statement) that is ascertainable and relevant to credit contracts under the scheme;

[DEV-20-MIN-0103]

- 3 **noted** that Kāinga Ora will continue to be subject to other parts of the Act that apply to all credit contracts, including Part 4 (enforcement and remedies) and Part 5 (reopening of oppressive contracts);
- 4 **noted** that the Credit Contracts and Consumer Finance (Residential Earthquake-prone Building Financial Assistance Scheme) Amendment Regulations 2020 (the Amendment Regulations) give effect to decisions referred to in paragraph 2 above;
- 5 **noted** that section 138(1A) of the Act provides that exempting regulations may be made on the recommendation of the Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, and that the Minister may make a recommendation only if satisfied that the criteria set out in section 138(1A) are met;
- 6 **noted** that the Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs considers the criteria under section 138(1A) of the Act to have been met;

- 7 **authorised** the submission to the Executive Council of the Credit Contracts and Consumer Finance (Residential Earthquake-prone Building Financial Assistance Scheme) Amendment Regulations 2020 [PCO 22987/7.0];
- 8 **noted** that the Amendment Regulations come into force on 3 September 2020.

Charlotte Doyle Committee Secretary

Present:

Hon Chris Hipkins (Chair) Hon Andrew Little Hon David Parker Hon Stuart Nash Hon Damien O'Connor Hon Ron Mark Hon Tracey Martin Hon James Shaw Hon Julie Anne Genter Hon Eugenie Sage Michael Woodhouse MP (Senior Government Whip) **Officials present from:** Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for LEG