



COVERSHEET

Minister	Hon Jenny Salesa	Portfolio	Building and Construction
Title of	Building (Exempt Building Work)	Date to be	7 September 2020
Cabinet paper	Order 2020	published	

List of documents that have been proactively released			
Date	Title	Author	
21 July 2020	Building (Exempt Building Work) Order 2020	Office of Hon Jenny Salesa	
21 July 2020	LEG-20-MIN-0100 Minute	Cabinet Office	

Information redacted

NO

Any information redacted in this document is redacted in accordance with MBIE's policy on Proactive Release and is labelled with the reason for redaction. This may include information that would be redacted if this information was requested under Official Information Act 1982. Where this is the case, the reasons for withholding information are listed below. Where information has been withheld, no public interest has been identified that would outweigh the reasons for withholding it.

© Crown Copyright, Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)



Cabinet Legislation Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Building (Exempt Building Work) Order 2020

Portfolio Building and Construction

On 21 July 2020, the Cabinet Legislation Committee:

- 1 **noted** that on 11 May 2020, Cabinet agreed to extend the list of building work that is exempt from requiring a building consent under Schedule 1 of the Building Act 2004 with a package of additional exemptions [CAB-20-MIN-0215];
- 2 **noted** that the Building (Exempt Building Work) Order 2020 gives effect to the decision referred to above;
- 3 **authorised** the submission to the Executive Council of the Building (Exempt Building Work) Order 2020 [PCO 22968/4.0];
- 4 **noted** that the Order will come into force on 31 August 2020.

Gerrard Carter Committee Secretary

Present:

Hon Chris Hipkins (Chair) Hon Andrew Little Hon David Parker Hon Stuart Nash Hon Iain Lees-Galloway Hon Kris Faafoi Hon Tracey Martin Hon Aupito William Sio Hon Julie Ann Genter Hon Eugenie Sage Michael Wood MP (Senior Government Whip) **Officials present from:** Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for LEG