



COVERSHEET

Minister	Hon lain Lees-Galloway	Portfolio	Workplace Relations and Safety
	Order to Increase the Adult Minimum Wage to \$18.90 from 1 April 2020	Date to be published	12 March 2020

List of documents that have been proactively released			
Date	Title	Author	
23 January 2020	Order to Increase the Adult Minimum Wage to \$18.90 from 1 April 2020	Office of Hon lain Lees- Galloway	
11 February 2020	LEG-20-MIN-0003: Minimum Wage Order 2020	Cabinet Legislation Committee	

Information redacted

YES / NO (please select)

Any information redacted in this document is redacted in accordance with MBIE's policy on Proactive Release and is labelled with the reason for redaction. This may include information that would be redacted if this information was requested under Official Information Act 1982. Where this is the case, the reasons for withholding information are listed below. Where information has been withheld, no public interest has been identified that would outweigh the reasons for withholding it.

© Crown Copyright, Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)



Cabinet Legislation Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Minimum Wage Order 2020

Portfolio Workplace Relations and Safety

On 11 February 2020, the Cabinet Legislation Committee:

- noted that on 11 December 2019, the Cabinet Economic Development Committee agreed to increase the adult minimum wage rate from \$17.70 per hour to \$18.90 per hour, and to increase the starting-out and training minimum wage rates from \$14.16 per hour to \$15.12 per hour [DEV-19-MIN-0353];
- 2 **noted** that the Minimum Wage Order 2020 gives effect to the decisions referred to above;
- authorised the submission to the Executive Council of the Minimum Wage Order 2020 [PCO 22666/2.0];
- 4 **noted** that the Order will come into force on 1 April 2020.

Gerrard Carter Committee Secretary

Present:

Rt Hon Winston Peters

Hon Chris Hipkins (Chair)

Hon Andrew Little

Hon David Parker

Hon Stuart Nash

Hon Iain Lees-Galloway

Hon Damien O'Connor

Hon Kris Faafoi

Hon Tracey Martin

Hon Julie Ann Genter

Hon Eugenie Sage

Michael Wood MP (Senior Government Whip)

Hard-copy distribution:

Minister for Workplace Relations and Safety

Officials present from:

Officials Committee for LEG