Alignment with Workforce Development Councils

This advice alignment has been presented with a distinct focus on the Hawke’s Bay RSLG’s priority workforce sectors of Primary, Construction and Health.

The Regional Skills Leadership Group (RSLG) has engaged with the 6 Workforce Development Councils (WDCs) and the following areas of alignment with Hawke’s Bay’s Regional Workforce Plan and recent findings:

Waihanga Ara Rau

Waihanga Ara Rau is the Workforce Development Council for Construction and Infrastructure. They represent industries including concrete, construction, electricity, gas, infrastructure, plumbing, roading, telecommunication, and water. Alignment includes:

  • Support for the review of Level 4 Carpentry and the need for ‘soft skills’ to be included as a component of the qualification
  • Support the exploration of vocational education fast track opportunities within the carpentry and infrastructure areas to provide low-friction experiences for learners and employers
  • Support the need to develop onsite leadership capability.
  • Support the need to partner for greater diversity in the construction and infrastructure workforce
  • Support the need to develop industry awareness of cultural competency, especially Te Ao Māori. 

Muka Tangata

Muka Tangata is the Workforce Development Council for the Food and Fibre Sector. This sector comprises 14 industries including dairy, sheep, beef, deer, pork, poultry, and other livestock farming; arable farming; vegetables and fruit growing; viticulture and winemaking; forestry; seafood; apiculture; equine, dogs and racing; veterinary; nursery, turf and gardening; and food and fibre support industries. Alignment includes:

  • Increase provision of micro-credentials in leadership for primary industry
  • Support the need to develop pastoral care capabilities across leaners, employees, employers and providers
  • Support for the need to develop training that caters to the needs of multicultural learners.

Toitū te Waiora

Toitū te Waiora (Community, Health, Education, and Social Services) Workforce Development Council represents sectors including care services, youth services, disability services, education and educational support services, funeral services, and mental health and addictions services. Alignment includes:

  • Increase provision of all health-related qualifications or courses at Level 3 and 4
  • Have regard for kaiāwhina training that has been developed in consultation with Māori businesses
  • Have regard for kaiāwhina training providers that are attracting Māori trainees
  • Support the development of a pastoral support micro-credential applicable across all industry.


Hanga-Aro-Rau Workforce Development Council represents the manufacturing, engineering and logistics industries including wood manufacturing, bakery, butchery, mechanical, automotive and marine engineering, dairy processing, extractives and drilling, and transport. Alignment includes:

  • Support the unit standard review of the Level 3 Primary Products Food Processing Qualification with strands in laboratory skills, environmental systems, and product quality
  • Support the development of digital skills in manufacturing and engineering to support the adoption of technology and enable staff to contribute to continuous improvement.

Ringa Hora

Ringa Hora is the Workforce Development Council for services. They represent many industries including advisory services, aviation, cleaning services and business services. Alignment includes:

  • Support for credentialing soft skills learned through the Service Sector
  • Support for the development of management level qualifications
  • Support the need to invest in provision that supports Māori to succeed by:
    • Increasing Te Reo Māori
    • Embedding Te Reo Māori
    • Partnerships with iwi and Māori organisations
    • Mātauranga Māori provision
    • Embedding mātauranga Māori/cultural capability.
Branch and leaves of a tree in the foreground with rows of an orchard and blue sky out of focus in the background.
Last updated: 24 July 2023