Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership

The Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) is a free trade agreement that will liberalise trade and investment between 11 Pacific-rim countries.

CPTPP was signed by the 11 countries on 8 March 2018 and enters into force on 30 December 2018. The 11 countries are:

  • New Zealand
  • Australia
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Japan
  • Malaysia
  • Mexico
  • Peru
  • Singapore
  • Viet Nam.

The CPTPP includes many of the elements that were negotiated as part of the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) but with some significant differences.

Negotiations concluded on 23 January 2018 with the participants agreeing to suspend 22 items from the original TPP agreement.

Read more about the CPTPP on the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade website.(external link)

A common set of rules

CPTPP contains an intellectual property chapter that will establish a common set of intellectual property rules for all member countries.

While most provisions of the chapter are consistent with New Zealand’s existing intellectual property regime, some legislative changes were made to enable ratification of the agreement.  New Zealand negotiated some flexibility in the way it implements some of the CPTPP obligations.

A number of intellectual property items in TPP have been suspended from needing to be implemented under CPTPP. These are discussed in the intellectual property factsheet for CPTPP .

Read the intellectual property factsheet on the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade's website.(external link)

Consultation to ratify TPP

In March 2016, we consulted on how the Government proposed to implement the intellectual property changes required to ratify TPP.

The consultation document focused on those areas where New Zealand had some flexibility in how it implements its TPP intellectual property obligations.

The consultation document: Implementation of the Trans-Pacific Partnership
Intellectual Property Chapter  [PDF, 620 KB]

These included:

  • a revised regime for technological protection measures (now suspended under CPTPP)
  • a more extensive regime for performers’ rights
  • patent term extensions to compensate for any unreasonable delays in patent grants (now suspended under CPTPP)
  • patent term extensions to compensate for any unreasonable delay as a result of Medsafe’s marketing approval process (now suspended under CPTPP)
  • new powers for Customs to detain goods that are suspected of infringing copyright or trade marks.

Submissions received

We received 55 submissions, ranging from individuals and user groups to rights’ holders, on all areas of the targeted consultation document. The submissions informed the final policy decisions.

View the submissions received in the document library(external link)

Last updated: 16 January 2019