NZ Space Scholarship recipients announced

Published: 15 May 2019

Four New Zealand tertiary students have been accepted into the NASA International Internship Programme and awarded the New Zealand Space Scholarship by Economic Development Minister David Parker at an award ceremony in Wellington on Monday night.

Minister Parker hosted the award ceremony at the Beehive, joined by US Ambassador, Scott Brown. Rosemary Swears (University of Waikato), Steven McCabe (University of Waikato), Andrew Alder (University of Auckland/University of Boulder, Colorado) and Hammond Pearce (University of Auckland) were selected from a pool of over 200 applicants nationwide.

The internship, which will run for approximately 10 weeks, will begin in June 2019 and all students will be based at the Ames Research Centre in California's Silicon Valley.

The application process was two-phased meaning candidates needed to be first selected by the New Zealand Space Agency, and secondly by NASA from a broader pool of international applicants.

New Zealand Space Scholarship recipients will be able to participate in NASA’s International Internships Programme, under an agreement between the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment and NASA.

The Scholarship covers the costs of the internship, including airfares to the United States, accommodation, living expenses, visa-related fees and medical and travel insurance.

During their internships, the students will publish regular video blogs that will be hosted on the New Zealand Space Agency website, sharing their experiences and learning, and creating opportunities for valuable dialogue with other students, scientists, researchers and space industry professionals.

This initial offering of the New Zealand Space Scholarship is part of a pilot exercise to test the value of the internship programme for both the students that participate and New Zealand’s space industry.

Read more information and profiles of the 2019 NZ Space Scholarship recipients.

For media coverage of the event and interviews: